Skip to main content

Civil Divisions of the District Clerk’s office

As of Feb. 1, 2023, the District Clerk’s Civil Divisions (Family, Civil, Finance and Civil Records) will be at the Civil Family Court Facility (CFCF), 1700 Guadalupe Street, 3rd Floor in Austin, Texas but we ask for the public’s patience as we are in the process of moving and adjusting to our new space.  Any questions about office operations, please call our general number at (512) 854-9457 or email [email protected].

Filing fees and court costs for documents filed in the District Clerk’s Office are set by the Texas Legislature. Below is a fee breakdown for filing an original petition and other miscellaneous fees. For other filings, please click on the Full Fee Schedule button.

On This Page

Filing Documents

The Civil Division offers three different options for filers without an attorney to file their documents.

Attorneys are required to e-file their documents.

E-Filing

Documents that are submitted electronically must be through eFileTexas.gov. Please refer all questions to your e-filing provider.

Attorneys are required to e-file.

Please visit the Travis County Law Library & Self-Help Center to get started.

E-filing tips for everybody:

  • Use ALL CAPS when adding parties, addresses or event comments.
  • Enter each party within initial filing (including intervenors, cross-defendants, counter-plaintiffs, and third-party plaintiffs).
  • Please leave a note if filer would like service by a constable other than PCT 5.
  • Please choose the correct case type and category when filing a new petition.
  • Add address for parties added to e-filing.
  • Please note related cases in the comments section (ex., a garnishment case or a Protective Order case that has a companion divorce case).
  • Fees need to be accurate prior to submitting your e-file.

 

Fees & Payments

Payment Methods

Unless the law provides otherwise, payment for services is made at the time the service is requested.

Payment may be made by:

  • Personal or business check
  • Cashier’s check
  • Money order
  • Credit card (a service fee may be applied)
  • Legalease
  • Direct draft

Fee Schedule

Miscellaneous Charges
Records Search (per cause/name or item searched) $5         
Certificate of Name Change $10
Certificate of Divorce $10
Paper Copy (per page) $1
Non-Certified Electronic Document (per page up to 10, then .10c per additional) $1
Certified Copy (per document) $5
Affidavit of No Record $5
Affidavit of Non Appeal $5
Certificate of No Litigation $5
Exemplified Copies (+ the cost of the Certified Copy) $5

Note: Credit card payments charge a non-refundable 3% convenience fee with a minimum of $3.

 

Full Fee Schedule (pdf) 

Forms

If you are e-filing, the forms below must be e-filed into the existing case. The following forms can also be used by self-represented litigants who are filing their paper documents.

For filing instructions, please refer to the Filing Documents section of this page.

When filing, please leave an email address to send the issuance (i.e. the writ, citation, or subpoena you requested) once it is ready.

 

Status Information

Filing/Envelope Status

Please allow 2 business days for processing before contacting our office to inquire on the status unless it’s an emergency filing.

If you are looking for the status of your filing as an attorney, please see Online Case information. If you do not have an account, please register. If the document is not reflected in the file, then it is being processed.

For more information, please visit the E-File website.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I make a records request?

To order copies of any records, please fill out and submit the Records Request form.

If you prefer, you may make an in-person appointment to pick up documents. You may also come to our office and wait to be seen without an appointment.

You can also send a letter requesting copies to:

TCDC, P.O. Box 679003
Austin, TX 78767.

 

More Services

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

We’ve made some changes to this website. Like what you see? Found an issue? Missing any content? Please fill out this feedback form to let us know about your experience.

District Clerk Civil Division

Make an appointment

Phone

(512) 854-9457

Email

districtclerkhelp
@traviscountytx.gov

Address

1700 Guadalupe St.
3rd Floor,
Room 3.200
Austin, TX 78701
(Map)

Hours of Operation

Monday – Friday
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM

 

TAX RATE: TAX RATE: TRAVIS COUNTY ADOPTED A TAX RATE THAT WILL RAISE MORE TAXES FOR MAINTENANCE AND OPERATIONS THAN LAST YEAR’S TAX RATE. THE TAX RATE WILL EFFECTIVELY BE RAISED BY 8.7 PERCENT AND WILL RAISE TAXES FOR MAINTENANCE AND OPERATIONS ON A $100,000 HOME BY APPROXIMATELY $22.42.

logo tc seal
©  Travis County. All Rights Reserved.


TOP