Skip to main content

Civil Divisions of the District Clerk’s office

As of Feb. 1, 2023, the District Clerk’s Civil Divisions (Family, Civil, Finance and Civil Records) will be at the Civil Family Court Facility (CFCF), 1700 Guadalupe Street, 3rd Floor in Austin, Texas but we ask for the public’s patience as we are in the process of moving and adjusting to our new space.  Any questions about office operations, please call our general number at (512) 854-9457 or email [email protected].

The Family Division is the custodian of District Court records. We handle care, custody, and control of all documents filed in our office. This includes divorces, suits affecting the parent-child relationship, name changes, and adoptions.

On This Page

Services

Filing Documents

Documents can be filed electronically using an EFSP (Electronic Filing Service Provider). More information can be found on the official electronic filing system for Texas. Attorneys are mandated to E-File.

Litigants who are self-represented can make an appointment for in-person filing on
our appointment scheduling system or mail documents to:

    TCDC
    P.O. BOX 679003
    Austin, Texas 78767-9003

Documents being filed into a sealed case may be sent to: [email protected]

Note: Our office does not provide documents or forms for filing. If you need these documents or other assistance, please visit:

Fees

Family Suits Filing Fees
 Clerk’s Basic Filing Fee $50
 Law Library Fee  $35
 Records Preservation/Management Fee $30
 General Court Reporter Fee $25
 Courthouse Security Fund $20
 Court Facility Fund $20
 Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Fee $15 
 County Jury Fund $10
Appellate Judicial System Fee $5
Language Access Fund $3
Local Consolidated Fee $213
State Consolidated Fee $137
TOTAL BASE FEE $350

Full Fee Schedule

*Fees only apply to the District Courts in Travis County.

Unless the law provides otherwise, payment for service is made at the time the service is requested.

Payment may be made by:

  • Personal or Business Check
  • Cashier’s Check
  • Money Order
  • Credit Card
  • Cash

Note: Credit card payments charge a non-refundable 3% conveniance fee with a minimum of $3.

If you want to ask for your filing fees to be waived, you may file a Statement of Inability to Afford Payment of Court Costs or an Appeal Bond.

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

We’ve made some changes to this website. Like what you see? Found an issue? Missing any content? Please fill out this feedback form to let us know about your experience.

District Clerk
Family Division

Make an
appointment

  Phone

(512)854-9457

  Email

[email protected]
traviscountytx.gov

  Address

1700 Guadalupe St.
3rd Floor,
Room 3.200
Austin, TX 78701
(Map)

Hours of Operation

Monday - Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

TAX RATE: TAX RATE: TRAVIS COUNTY ADOPTED A TAX RATE THAT WILL RAISE MORE TAXES FOR MAINTENANCE AND OPERATIONS THAN LAST YEAR’S TAX RATE. THE TAX RATE WILL EFFECTIVELY BE RAISED BY 8.7 PERCENT AND WILL RAISE TAXES FOR MAINTENANCE AND OPERATIONS ON A $100,000 HOME BY APPROXIMATELY $22.42.

logo tc seal
©  Travis County. All Rights Reserved.


TOP