flood plain

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) ranks Travis County among the fastest growing areas in the nation and in the top 10 percent of flood-damage prone communities. Most of the former FEMA floodplain maps for Travis County were based on out-of-date technical data prepared up to 25-years ago. In March 2006, FEMA released the new preliminary Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRM) and Flood Insurance Studies (FIS) to Travis County. The updated maps went into effect in 2008.

View Regulations for Flood Plain Management & Guidelines and Procedures for Development Permits

Maps

 

Additional information can be found from the City of Austin website.

For additional information from Travis County please contact: FloodMapInfo@traviscountytx.gov.

Local Contact Information

Travis County only has floodplain jurisdiction in the unincorporated areas of the County (outside city limits). If your property is located within a city please contact your local officials.

City of Austin 
Floodplain Office

City of Jonestown 
Marilee Pfannstiel (512) 267-3243 
marilee@jonestown.org
City of Lakeway 
Steven Jones (512) 314-7504 
stevejones@lakeway-tx.gov

City of Lago Vista 
John Goble (512) 527-3535 
J.Goble@Lago-Vista.org

City of Mustang Ridge 
Alfredo Vallejo (512) 243-1775

City of Manor 
Thomas Bolt (512-272-555)
tbolt@cityofmanor.org

Village of Point Venture 
Melissa Utpadel (512) 267-5511 
BuildingDept@vopv.org

Village of San Leanna 
Dan LeFleur (512) 282-2126

City of Sunset Valley 
Sara Willson, CFM, (512) 892-1383
swilson@sunsetvalley.org

Village of Volente 
Richard Fraser (512) 974-3139 
volente@sbcglobal.net

City of Westlake Hills 
Bob Barnhardt (512) 327-3628 
septinspec@westlakehills.org
Jim Stearman (512) 327-3628 
codeinspec@westlakehills.org

General Contact Information

FEMA, Region VI 
Jack Quarles (940) 898-5156 jack.quarles@fema.gov

FEMA, National Service Provider (NSP) - Michael Baker Corporation 
Dan Hoecker (940) 566-5655 dhoecker@mbakercorp.com
or Michael Anderson manderson@mbakercorp.com

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality - State NFIP Coordinator 
Mike Howard (512) 236-6155 mhoward@tceq.state.tx.us
or Heidi Carlin hcarlin@tceq.state.tx.us

Lower Colorado River Authority 
John McLeod (800) 776-5272 john.mcleod@lcra.org

Useful Links