Skip to main content

Travis County Expunction Expo

What is the Expunction Expo?

Removing old arrest records from your criminal history can be difficult without help. The 2022 Expunction Expo will help Travis County residents clear their old arrest records. Not all arrests qualify for clearing but it is usually helpful to try. Why? Individuals with arrest records often find it hard to obtain jobs, housing, or financial aid for college.

Clearing an arrest record is called “expunction” in Texas. The partners in the 2022 Expunction Expo are committed to helping Travis County residents determine if their records qualify for expunctions.

The partners are the:

Legal services provided by:

Supporters:

  • Hon. Rudy Metayer

How do I know if my case MAY be eligible for an expunction?

Only Travis County crimes can be considered for expunction at this Expo.

According to Texas law, your case MAY qualify for an expunction if any of the following apply:

  • You were arrested but a charge was NEVER FILED or was no billed by the grand jury,
  • You have a criminal charge that was DISMISSED,
  • You successfully completed a DIVERSION PROGRAM, such as Pretrial Diversion, Drug Court, etc.,
  • You were ACQUITTED on your charge by a judge or jury (usually by a finding of “Not Guilty”), or appellate court.
  • You were convicted of a crime but later PARDONED by the Governor of Texas or the President of the United States.

If any of the above apply, your case MAY qualify for an expunction. Felony cases that may qualify based on one of the categories listed above can be discussed with Paul Quinzi at the Travis County Law Library or an attorney for further consultation.

According to Texas law, your case does NOT qualify for an expunction if any of the following apply:

  • Your case is STILL PENDING;
  • You were CONVICTED in the case you want expunged, even if you just paid a fine (convictions on other cases from the same arrest do not prevent misdemeanor expunctions and unlawful carrying a weapon convictions are exceptions to this rule).
  • You were placed on PROBATION, COMMUNITY SUPERVISION, or DEFERRED ADJUDICATION for any felony or Class A or B misdemeanor you want expunged, even if your case was later dismissed (Class C deferred adjudication is the only exception. Deferred Prosecution qualifies for an expunction too, IF the conditions have been successfully completed).

velva-price

Velva L. Price,
District Clerk

Biography
Contact Information

Hours of Operation

Court House
Monday - Friday
8:00AM to 5:00PM

Jury/Passport Office
Monday - Friday
8:00AM to 4:30PM

Travis County Approved Holiday Schedule

TAX RATE: TRAVIS COUNTY ADOPTED A TAX RATE THAT WILL RAISE MORE TAXES FOR MAINTENANCE AND OPERATIONS THAN LAST YEAR’S TAX RATE. THE TAX RATE WILL EFFECTIVELY BE RAISED BY 3.5 PERCENT AND WILL RAISE TAXES FOR MAINTENANCE AND OPERATIONS ON A $100,000 HOME BY APPROXIMATELY $10.39.

logo tc seal
©  Travis County. All Rights Reserved.


TOP