Skip to main content

The Travis County District Attorney’s Office promotes regular communication with those individuals who have been victims of crimes committed against their person or their property. Our office strives to ensure that victims are informed of court proceedings, their statutory rights, and are connected with the appropriate resources to help them get through this difficult and stressful time. We have experienced counselors to provide resources and assist victims in the criminal legal system.

In Texas, crime victims have certain rights and protections by law. There is good information available to you at the Texas Department of Criminal Justice Victim Services Division’s website.

  • To contact Victim Services at our office, call (512) 854-9449.
  • We provide interpreter services for non-English speaking victims and access to hearing impaired resources.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Do I need an attorney to represent my interests?

You do not need an attorney as the victim of a crime in order to participate in the criminal justice system. The prosecutor represents the State of Texas and a crime victim is not considered a party to the criminal case. The prosecutor must enforce the rights afforded to a crime victim under the Crime Victims’ Bill of Rights statute, as set out in the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure.

TAX RATE: TRAVIS COUNTY ADOPTED A TAX RATE THAT WILL RAISE MORE TAXES FOR MAINTENANCE AND OPERATIONS THAN LAST YEAR'S TAX RATE. THE TAX RATE WILL EFFECTIVELY BE RAISED BY 3.6 PERCENT AND WILL RAISE TAXES FOR MAINTENANCE AND OPERATIONS ON A $100,000 HOME BY APPROXIMATELY $11.00.

logo tc seal
©  Travis County. All Rights Reserved.


TOP