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Water District's Address, City, State, ZIP Code Water District's Website Address 

GENERAL INFORMATION: Water Code Section 49.001 defines a water district as any district or authority created by Texas Constitution, Article XVI, 
Section 59 or Article Ill, Sections 52(b)(1) and (2), but does not include: 

• any navigation district or port authority created under general or special law or any conservation and reclamation district created by Chapter 62, Acts 
of the 52nd Legislature, 1951 (Article 8280-141, Vernon's Texas Civil Statutes), or 

• any conservation and redamatilffldisimt ~medby,Wafer Code Chapter 3&unless a, specialJawcreating the districto,: amending, the, law 
aealiflg1he district S1a1es thatWafer Code Chapter 49 appies 10 that districl 

\Nater Cod~Sections 49.107(g} .and 49.108(t} prtividethatTuCode Sections 26.04, 26.05 and 26.07' do not apply to taxing units created under water 
Code Section 49.001 that levy and coflect taxes under water Code Sections 49.107 and 49.108. Water districts must follow Water Code Section 49.236, 
requiring a public hearing on a proposed tax rate and publishing a special hearing notice. 

The Comptroller's office provides this sample worksheet to assist water districts in determining their rollback tax rate. The information provided in this 
worksheet is offered as technical assistance and not legal advice. Water districts should consult legal counsel for interpretations of law regarding tax rate 
preparation and adoption. 

SECTION 1: Rollback Tax Rate 

llhe~ tax,rate 'is Xhe ~ tale the wale!r district may adopt 'Wihloul at.11tiariziog,quaflfed Y01er'S-n petilioob a ·l'Ollbaclt elec\iOO. The f01lbacl( rate 
is tllle our,em1!!iif.S debt service and oomract UllC rates, plus,the ma1menanoeand ope,at,on {111&0) ra1e tha1 would impose no.more than 1.08 times the 
amount of tvl&O ta,c imposed by the water district in the preceding ysar on the.average appraised value of a residenoe hornes1ead in the water district. The 
average appraised value disregards any homestead exemption available only to people with disabilities or those age 65 or older. 

1. 2017 average appraised value of residence homestead. $ 613,386.00 

2. 2017 general exemptions available for the average homestead (excluding age 65 or older or disabled persons exemptions). -$ 

Wl,451..00 :,, 

4. 2017 adopted M&O tax rate (per $100 of value). 0.1865$ /$100 

5. 2017 M&O tax on average residence homestead (Multiply Line 3 by Line 4, divide by $100). $ 1,132.90 

6. Highest M&O tax on average residence homestead with increase (Multiply Line 5 by 1.08). 1,223.53$ 

$ _ 644,309.00 

-s 0..00 

9. 2018 average taxable value of residence homestead (Line 7 minus Line 8). $ 641,349.00 

10. Highest 2018 M&O Tax Rate (Line 6 divided by Line 9, multiply by $100). $ 

2018 DebtTax Rate. 

2018 ContractTax Rate'- ~ 

2018 Rollback Tax Rate (add Lines 10, 11 and 12). 
This is the highest rate that the water district may adopt without authorizing voters to petition for a rollback election. $ 

.1908 /$100 

11. • 0.06 /$100 

012.. IS1CO 

13. 
0.2508 /$100 

Ttte Property TaxAssistance Divisionat the TexasCofTlptroller ofPublic Accounts provides p,operty tax For more 1nforrnatior V''. t -· r ··1cks1t!'" 
information and resources for taxpayers, local taxing entities, appraisal districts and appraisal •eview boa1ds. comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/property-tax 
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SECTION 2: Taxing Unit Representative Name and Signature 

Enter the name of the person preparing the rollback tax rate as authorized by the governing body of the water district. 

=• 11Z.~v1 Ju ll ~ -vJ. lb.Jri1 

=:::!•--~ 
Water District Representative 

Formoreinformation, visit our website:comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/property-tax 
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