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Your Duties as Guardian of the Person 
 

#1:  Be the Ward’s Advocate 

You are often required to speak on behalf of your Ward.  You should protect your Ward by: 

 Meeting the Ward’s Needs.  Make all final decisions for the Ward in residential, medical, and other 

matters.  (As a Guardian, you cannot place the Ward in an in-patient psychiatric hospital.)  By statute, 

you have a duty to provide care, supervision, and protection for your Ward and to provide your Ward 

with clothing, food, medical care, and shelter as completely as the Ward’s resources permit. 

 Visiting Regularly.  The Court expects guardians to visit their wards at least once a month. 
 

 

#2:  Submit Annual Report * 

The Guardian of the Person’s Annual Report 

reports the Ward’s condition to the Court.  

When completing the report, remember: 

 The Annual Report is required by law. 

 Failure to file this report can result in your 

removal as Guardian. 

 Provide as many details as possible, 

using the form provided by the Court. 

 Complete, sign under penalty of 

perjury, and mail to Travis County 

Clerk’s Office.  Address is on the form. 

 

 

Annually 
 

#3: Cooperate with the 
Court Visitor 

The Court’s goal is to have a Court Visitor 

visit the Ward once a year to assess the 

Ward’s physical condition & living 

conditions.  The Ward may be visited more 

or less frequently. 

 The Court Visitor will want to speak 

with the Guardian, too.  

 If you can’t meet with the Court Visitor 

during the Court visit, the Court Visitor 

will attempt to contact you by phone. 

 Texas law requires a $25.00 fee for the processing 

of each Annual Report to determine whether the 

Guardianship continues to be appropriate, unless 

an affidavit of inability to pay costs is on file. 

  

  #5: Submit Final Report * 

A Final Report must be filed: 

 when the Ward dies (include a copy of 

the death certificate); 

 when a minor Ward turns 18 years old; 

 if the Court accepts your resignation as 

Guardian. 

Complete, sign under penalty of perjury, 

and mail a Final Report to the Travis 

County Clerk’s Office.  The address is on 

the Report form.  Use the same Court-

provided form as for the Annual Report, but 

check the “Final” Report box near the top of 

the first page. 

#4: Report Address Change 

The Court needs the current address and 

phone number for the Ward & the Guardian. 

If the you or the Ward moves, call the 

Court at 512-854-9359 to report the address 

change, or mail the information to 
     Travis County Probate Court No. 1 

     P.O. Box 1748, Austin, TX  78767 

You cannot move the ward into a more restrictive care 

facility unless you first give at least 7 business days’ 

notice to the Court except in case of emergency. 

You may not move to another state or be absent from 

this state for more than three months without Court 

permission.  If the Ward moves from this County, 

consult with the Court about whether the guardianship 

should be transferred. 

 

* You may complete and file your Annual or Final Report without the assistance of an attorney.  Forms for your Annual or Final 

Report of the Person are available on the Court’s website, https://www.traviscountytx.gov/probate/guardianship or at the Court’s 

office.  If you have questions, call the Guardianship Legal Assistant at 512-854-9359.  If you are also Guardian of the Estate, 

note that Texas law requires that you work with your attorney to prepare your Annual or Final Accounts. 

https://www.traviscountytx.gov/probate/guardianship

