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Application for Sealing Records

Information Sheet

Upon receipt, all sealing applications will be reviewed to determine eligibility.

0 If you would like to pick up your correspondence in person or you prefer to
receive it via email, you will receive a call when your correspondence is ready;
or

0 If you would like to receive your correspondence via certified mail, it will be
mailed to the address on your application. Note: All certified mail MUST be
signed for in person or it will be returned to sender.

e If your application is deemed ineligible, it will be returned to you along with a letter
explaining the reason it was denied. The court may order the sealing of records if the
following criteria are met:

» The person is at least 17 or, if younger than 17, at least one year must have
elapsed after the date of the final discharge in each matter for which the
person was referred;

The person has no pending delinquent conduct matters;

The person was not certified as an adult;

The person has not been convicted of a felony as an adult; and

The person has no pending charges as an adult for a felony or jailable

misdemeanor.
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e During the review process, a Judge may decide to hold a hearing to determine whether to
order the sealing of your records. If this occurs, a Notice of Setting will be mailed to you and
any entity or agency that is believed to be in possession of any records relating to your case.

e This hearing will give you and the prosecutor an opportunity to present information to assist
the Judge in making a decision about whether to seal your records. An attorney is not
required. It is your decision to hire one if you so choose. The decision about whether to seal
your records will be made at the time of the hearing.

o All eligible sealing applications will be filed and if no hearing is required, a Sealing Order will
be signed by a Judge. Within 60 days, you will receive a certified letter with a copy of the
Sealing Order. If you choose to pick up your correspondence, a photo ID will be required. All
entities or agencies believed to be in possession of your records will also receive the Sealing
Order and must take the appropriate legal action within 60 days of receiving the order.

o If you have any questions, please contact this office at 512-854-7063 and ask for a Sealing
Clerk. Note: We are not authorized to give you any legal advice.

e Once your records are sealed, NO RECORD EXISTS, with this agency.
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TEXAS JUVENILE JUSTICE SYSTEM FILES AND RECORDS

A Juvenile’s Guide to Understanding Juvenile Records and Sealing

Who has a juvenile record in Texas?

Anyone referred to juvenile court for conduct occurring before age 17 has a record, even if not taken into
custody by police before the referral. Referrals to juvenile court may be for delinquent conduct (generally
Class A or B misdemeanor or felony offenses) or for conduct indicating a need for supervision (CINS) (e.g.
class C misdemeanors, conduct that would not be against the law if committed by an adult, like drinking or
running away, and other specific offenses, such as “sexting”). Juvenile records exist with probation, law
enforcement, prosecutors, courts, and in the Juvenile Justice Information System (JJIS) computer database
maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety.

Who can access juvenile records?

Juvenile records are confidential. They may be shared only with people the law says may access them. The
law allows sharing with entities that need access for community safety or to provide services to juveniles.
DPS may share the records in JJIS only with: criminal and juvenile justice agencies; TJJD and the Ombudsman
for T]JD; courts having jurisdiction over juveniles; the Department of Family and Protective Services for
certain background checks; the military (only with the juvenile’s permission); and noncriminal justice
agencies if allowed by federal law or executive order. If the records are sealed, no one may access the records
except with a court order, which may be issued in limited circumstances. Entities that provide occupational
licenses are not authorized to access the information in JJIS whether or not the records are sealed.

How do | get my records sealed?

If you were referred to juvenile court for CINS and never referred for delinquent conduct and actually have
records with the court, your records will be sealed when you turn 18 as long as you do not have an adult
felony conviction or pending adult charges. If you were referred to juvenile court for delinquent conduct
(felony or misdemeanor) but were never adjudicated (i.e. “found guilty”) or you were adjudicated for a
misdemeanor but not a felony, your records will be sealed when you turn 19 as long as you do not have an
adult conviction for a jailable misdemeanor or felony and don’t have pending adult or juvenile charges. You
do not have to apply to the court for this type of sealing.

If you were adjudicated for a felony or you do not otherwise meet the criteria for sealing above, you may file
an application (with or without an attorney) asking the court to seal your records. You may do this if you are
atleast17, no matter how long ago the case was closed. If you are younger than 17, you may apply when one
year has passed since you were discharged from probation or since the case was closed without probation.
The court can only seal your records if you do not have any adult felony convictions or any pending adult
charges (other than Class C misdemeanors), are not currently required to register as a sex offender, and are
not currently committed to TJJD. The court may choose to order the records sealed without a hearing or may
hold a hearing to decide whether or not to seal the records. The court cannot deny an application for sealing
without first having a hearing.

Are there any records that can’t be sealed?
You cannot get your records sealed if you were ever certified by the juvenile court to stand trial as an adult or
were ever given a determinate sentence (probation or commitment). If you are required to register as a sex

offender, you cannot get your records sealed until your obligation to register has expired. If you were
committed to T]]D, you are not eligible for sealing until you have been discharged.
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Sealing does not apply to records in a justice or municipal court related to a Class C misdemeanor. Those
records may be eligible for expunction, though. Sealing also does not apply to records in the gang database;
however, these records may only be shared with criminal justice agencies for criminal justice purposes and
may be removed in certain circumstances.

What happens when records are sealed?

When records are sealed, all adjudications are vacated and it is as though the referral to juvenile court never
happened. You are not required to state in any proceeding or in any application for employment, licensing,
admission, housing, or other public or private benefit that the records ever existed or that you were ever
arrested, prosecuted, or adjudicated.

Additionally, the law states that once records are sealed, the information in the records, the fact that they
once existed, or your denial of the existence of the records may not be used against you in any manner,
including in an perjury prosecution or other criminal proceeding, a civil proceeding, including an
administrative proceeding involving a governmental entity, an application process for licensing or
certification, or an admission, employment, or housing decision.

Can sealed records be reopened?
A court can open sealed records if you ask them to. The court can also reopen the records if a prosecutor asks
them to for limited purposes, including a future prosecution for a capital offense or a future prosecution for

an offense for which punishment can be enhanced based on your juvenile record. Re-opening a sealed record
does not mean that the record is “unsealed.” The protections that come with sealing a record remain in place.

What about records in a justice or municipal court?
For those of juvenile age, class C misdemeanors in justice or municipal court are confidential and may not be

disclosed to the public. If you have only one conviction prior to your 17t birthday, you may be able to have
certain offenses “expunged” or removed from your record.

Where can | get additional information?

Confidentiality of Juvenile Records
Texas Family Code §§58.005-58.008

Sealing
Texas Family Code Chapter 58, Subchapter C-1

Expunction
Code of Criminal Procedure §45.0216; §45.0541

You can access Texas laws online at
www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us
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