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JP5 INFORMATION ON OCCUPATIONAL DRIVER’S LICENSE (ODL) 

1. The JP filing fee for an ODL is $46.00 

2. The applicant must file the following: 

 

a) A Petition for Occupational Driver’s License (ODL) and draft ODL Order; 

b) An SR-22 insurance form 

c) A letter from the applicant’s employer regarding the need to drive.  If the applicant is retired, 

disabled, or on public assistance, a sworn affidavit of status, with proof, may substitute for an 

employer’s letter 

d) A certified copy of the applicant’s driving record (Type AR-Certified Abstract of Driving Record) 

from the Department of Public Safety, which may be obtained at: 

http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm 

e) A copy of the order suspending the applicant’s driver’s license; 

f) A printout that states the total amount owed for reinstatement fees, which may be obtained at the 

Texas Department of Public Safety Driver License Division, License Eligibility site: 

http://txapps.texas.gov.txapp/txdps/dleligibility/login.do 

g) A money order or cashier’s check made payable to the Texas Department of Public Safety for the 

amount owed for reinstatement fees as shown on the printout. 

h) A money order or cashier’s check made payable to the Texas Department of Public Safety in the 

amount of $10.00 for the annual ODL fee. 

i) The petition must state any pending criminal charges of the applicant, other than Class C 

misdemeanors. 

 

3. The court will consider applications for ODL’s each Tuesday at 1:00 p.m. and Thursday at 1:00 p.m.  

Each applicant will receive a hearing date when the petition is filed. 

4. The law limits driving under an ODL to a maximum of four (4) hours per day.  Upon a showing of 

necessity, the court may permit an applicant to drive up to twelve (12) hours per day, e.g., from 7:00 

a.m. to 7:00 p.m. or some equivalent period; however, the court may further restrict driving times as 

appropriate. 

5. An occupational driver license cannot be issued to drive a commercial motor vehicle. 

6. Certified copies of any granted ODL will cost $2.00 for the first page and $0.25 for each additional 

page, and the applicant must pay for two certified copies of any ODL granted. 

7. The court will forward one certified copy of the ODL to the Texas Department of Public Safety with the 

applicant’s money orders or cashier’s checks for the appropriate reinstatement fees and the yearly 

issuance fee.  The court will also forward the SR-22 to DPS.  The Department of Public Safety will then 

send the driver an ODL card after receipt of the order. 

8. The driver must keep the second certified copy of the ODL at all times when driving, along with a copy 

of the SR-22 or other insurance.  The driver must also keep the order with the Texas Department of 

Public Safety issued card to verify the times the driver is allowed to drive. 

9. The court may order the ODL revoked for good cause at any time. 


